Select a School...
Select a School

Southeast Service Cooperative

Shaping the Future for Communities of Leaders and Learners

RCE Logo
 

 

The Southeast Service Cooperative is home to one of six Regional Centers of Excellence (RCEs) in the state of Minnesota.  The SE-Metro Center of Excellence was launched in 2012 with the Statewide System of Support (SSOS) providing support to Focus and Priority Schools.  This partnership between the Minnesota Department of Education, the Regional Centers of Excellence, the Minnesota Service Cooperatives, and regional school districts creates a unique and customized team. 

Following the success of the first year of implementation of SSOS, the Minnesota Legislature established a 2013 statute to expand the RCE network with a focus on the World's Best Workforce goals.  This enables the innovative partnership to have an even greater impact on improved student outcomes in Minnesota.  The goal of this expansion is to increase Minnesota’s collective impact on student achievement through regional partnerships that provide equitable access and cohesive, coordinated support.  Three additional centers across the state were added to support the expanded work.  The six centers now include:

  • SE-Metro at Southeast Service Cooperative in Rochester*
  • Central Lakes at Resource Training and Solutions in Sartell*
  • Northern Pines at Northwest Service Cooperative in Thief River Falls*
  • Northern Sky at Northeast Service Cooperative in Mountain Iron
  • Southwest Prairie at Southwest/South Central Service Cooperative in Marshall
  • Western Lakes at Lakes Country Cooperative in Fergus Falls

 *Original RCEs and continued SSOS support

There are nine areas that the Regional Centers of Excellence will focus their efforts on this year:

 REC Focus Areas
 

Southeast/Metro Regional Center of Excellence:  Statewide System of Support

The primary goal of the Regional Centers of Excellence:  Statewide System of Support (SSOS) is to focus schools and districts on closing the persistent achievement gap between high- and low-performing children, especially the achievement gaps between minority and non-minority students and between disadvantaged children and their more advantaged peers. – ESEA Waiver

The Regional Centers of Excellence: SSOS provide cohesive, focused, systemic support to districts and schools to maximize resources, build capacity, and promote sustainability of reform efforts to increase educational equity, excellence, and efficacy for all students. Collaboratively, the regional centers, Minnesota Department of Education (MDE), and service cooperatives are working to raise student achievement and close the achievement gap in Focus and Priority schools by creating sustainable leadership focused on student growth.

Vision:  Every school an excellent school.

Mission:  Leading transformation; building equitable schools through a living, breathing, and sustainable best practice architecture.

Partners:  Focus and Priority schools in Minnesota's 11 southeast and 7 Metro counties, MDE, and the Southeast Service Cooperative

Jane Drennan, SE/Metro Director, 507-696-5572, jdrennan@mnce.org
Jeffrey Aamot, RCE Systems Improvement Specialist, 507-696-0274, jaamot@mnce.org
Scott Fitzsimonds, RCE Systems Improvement Specialist, 507-421-6959, sfitzsimonds@mnce.org
Lori Mack, School Advocate/Implementation Science & Reading Specialist, 507-993-7635lmack@mnce.org
Bryan Scherr, Advocate/Math Specialist, 507-696-0254, bscherr@mnce.org
Miranda Schornack, Advocate/ELD Specialist, 507-696-0277, mschornack@mnce.org
Sonia Smith, Advocate/Special Education Specialist, 507-696-2741, ssmith@mnce.org
Carol Swanson, Advocate/Implementation Science Specialist, 507-696-0229, cswanson@mnce.org
Perry WilkinsonAdvocate/Equity & Implementation Specialist, 507-696-4193, pwilkinson@mnce.org
 
CLOSE