• Outstanding Educator Award
    The Outstanding Educator Award of STEM Forward (formerly RAMSP) recognizes K-12 professionals who strive toward the highest levels of excellence within their schools and community, with a focus on initiative and continuous improvement in every aspect of their work. The 2024 Outstanding Educator will be celebrated at the Annual STEM Forward Gathering on February 21, 2024. 
    To inquire about tickets to this event, email Sarah Ness at sness@ssc.coop. 
    Outstanding Educator recipients should embody the following aims of STEM Forward in their work:
    • Foster high K-12 student achievement.
    • Exhibit leadership and support for continuous improvement.
    • Promote science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) careers.
    • Demonstrate collaboration among K-12 schools, businesses and higher education.
    • Nominators are advised to get approval from the district office, superintendent, director of schools, curriculum director, or equivalent for submission.
    • Nominations may be submitted via the link below by 11:59 PM on 12/8/2023 Sarah Ness at sness@ssc.coop, or mailed to Southeast Service Cooperative, Attn: Sarah Ness at 210 Wood Lake Drive SE, Rochester, MN 55904. Questions? Call or email Sarah at 507-281-6678.
    • Members of the STEM Forward Executive Committee are not eligible for this award.





    Year First Last District Position  Links
    2022 Jacob Findlay Byron HS Careers News story
    2021 Rick Hengel MN State College SE CNC Instructor News story
    2021 Isaac Ydstie Kasson-Mantorville MS PLTW News story
    2020 Jessica Marquardt Kasson-Mantorville Elementary   
    2019 Burke Egner Albert Lea MS Technology & STEM  
    2019 Angela Heitmann Zumbrota-Mazeppa HS Science  
    2018 Matt Cada Plainview-Elgin-Millville Middle School Math  
    2018 Mark Nechanicky Albert Lea Elementary  
    2017 Shannon Johnson Zumbrota-Mazeppa Elementary Math  
    2017 Kristen Seeger Albert Lea Media Specialist  
    2016 Chris Otterness Kasson Mantorville HS Industrial Tech  
    2016 Aaron Davis Kasson Mantorville HS Industrial Tech  
    2015 Angela Wesis Rochester Catholic Schools HS Math & Science  
    2014 Paul Chick Plainview-Eligin-Millville HS Physics  
    2014 Andy Pethen Byron HS Math  
    2013 Mary Graves Zumbrota Mazeppa 6  
    2013 Megan Schlmek Pine Island HS Biology  
    2012 Dan Vrieze Dover-Eyota HS Math  
    2012 Jamie Quam Zumbrota Mazeppa HS Math  
    2011 Jennifer Green Byron HS Math  
    2011 Roger Larsen Rochester Public Schools 8 Earth Science  
    2011 Cheryl Moertel Rochester Public Schools HS Life Science  
    2010 Jeremy Baumbach Byron MS Math  
    2010 Jennifer Garin Plainview-Elgin-Millville HS Biology  
    2010 William Rauen Zumbrota-Mazeppa HS Math  
    2010 James Sonju Rochester Public (Lincoln K-8), Winona State, Mayo Clinic InSciEd Out  
    2009 Beverly Nelson Stewartville HS Biology  
    2009 Dr. ViAnn Olson RCTC 20 Years Hosting Mathcounts Competitions  
    2009 Anne Soleberg Zumbrota-Mazeppa 6 Math  
    2008 Mapuna Evjen Byron 2  
    2008 Charles Handlon Rochester Public Schools HS Science  
    2008 David Pugh Rochester Public Schools HS Math  
    2007 Heidi Howe Stewartville MS   
    2007 Peter Somers Triton HS Math  
    2007 Rob Warneke Byron HS Math  
    2006 Troy Faulkner Byron HS Math  
    2006 Annette Freiheit Hayfield EL Principal  
    2006 Jane Johnson Dover Eyota Curriculum Coordinator  
    2006 Ross Aleff Mayo Clinic College of Medicine  Mobile Science Labs  
    2006 Michael Ellingson Triton MS Math  
    2005 Kari Stellpflug Rochester Public HS Math & Computer Science  
    2005 Tom Theye Dover Eyota HS Biology & Chemistry  
    2005 Mike Matuska Zumbrota-Mazeppa HS Math  
    2004 De Cansler Rochester Public Schools 7 Science  
    2004 Carol Lucido Rochester Public Schools I/A Everyday Math  
    2004 Tammy Beniak Zumbrota-Mazeppa 5/6  Math  
    2003 Charro Coleman Byron 8 Science  
    2003 Bob Weinmann Rochester Catholics Schools HS Science  
    2002 Mike Greve Rochester Catholic Schools 7 Science  
    2002 Steve  Schwartz Stewartville HS Math